Review: Her Hardboiled Heart by David Taylor

by Benjamin Williams
17th March, 2024
2 minutes

Are you looking for a gritty and twisty spy noir thriller for fans of Killing Eve, Bond, Bourne and Atomic Blonde? A story with lies, spies, hate and history in a comic book spy thriller? Then the next three-part comic series from David Taylor could be exactly what you're after - Her Hardboiled Heart.

Her Hardboiled Heart cover

Her Hardboiled Heart is a novel set in a dark world of private espionage. 'Operators' are responsible for carrying out jobs that are beyond the scope of the British police and secret services. Paul is most comfortable when operating in the shadows. However, one of his assignments goes too far and he finds himself being hunted. To ensure his safety, he is assigned to watch over a woman named Estelle.

Paul disobeys orders to involve himself in Estelle's life, hoping to save her. However, it becomes clear that Estelle is not the person she appears to be; she is in trouble because she causes trouble. Despite this, Paul is attracted to her dangerous persona. Initially, he begins by observing Estelle from a distance, but soon their relationship turns into a deadly game of cat-and-mouse as they navigate the rain-slicked streets of London.

Her Hardboiled Heart preview one

Let's start with the art as usual. I'm a massive fan of Taylor's style. The art style is stunning. The use of a limited colour palette consisting of black, white and blue panels creates a sense of depth and nuance in the visuals. The occasional and well-placed splashes of red on Estelle add a pop of colour and bring a sense of excitement and vibrancy to the story. She stands out, and your attention is drawn to her in the same way that Paul's attention is focused on her.

As for the story, Taylor is again in top form. I'm not just a fan of his art style, as he's also a great writer.

The plot is full of twists and turns that keep the reader guessing until the very end. The comic is a homage to the classic noir genre, but also adds its own unique flair and voice. The narrative is expertly crafted, with a perfect balance of action, suspense, and character development.

Her Hardboiled Heart preview two

The characters in the story are well-developed and have complex motivations and secrets that add depth and richness to the story.

Her Hardboiled Heart is a must-read for fans of crime fiction, graphic novels, and noir. It's a gripping and gritty tale of corruption, violence, and revenge that will leave you wanting more. It's full of intrigue, suspense, and twists that will leave the reader on the edge of their seat. My only complaint is that we'll have to wait for the second part, as I just want to absorb it all now.

The Kickstarter goes live in April, which you can find here.

Rating: 5/5

Enjoy this Post? Support Comic Book News UK on Ko-fi
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com
All proceeds go towards supporting indie comic creators and keeping this site running

Are you a UK Based Comic Creator?

Get in touch with us today and let us know about your ongoing project.